Why such large rosters?

Savage

BRONZE
So my daughter is still young (beginning 9th grade this year) and we have time before we get serious about recruiting. But, one question has been nagging at me for a long time. Why do so many programs maintain such large rosters? Most rosters are 25-30 and some are more than 35. Precious scholarship money and playing time has to be dividend up amongst the players. I would think that such a huge roster would be recipe for a bad dynamic. If I am a coach, I keep a roster of the best 20-25 I can recruit and divide the precious scholarship money and playing time amongst less players and use that as part of my recruiting pitch. I can still instill a sense of competition amongst 20-25 when I have only 11 players on the field.

I cannot think of a benefit to having a roster of more than 25 and I think I would make that a key criteria when evaluating the soccer programs.

What am I missing?

So my daughter is still young (beginning 9th grade this year) and we have time before we get serious about recruiting. But, one question has been nagging at me for a long time. Why do so many programs maintain such large rosters? Most rosters are 25-30 and some are more than 35. Precious scholarship money and playing time has to be dividend up amongst the players. I would think that such a huge roster would be recipe for a bad dynamic. If I am a coach, I keep a roster of the best 20-25 I can recruit and divide the precious scholarship money and playing time amongst less players and use that as part of my recruiting pitch. I can still instill a sense of competition amongst 20-25 when I have only 11 players on the field.

I cannot think of a benefit to having a roster of more than 25 and I think I would make that a key criteria when evaluating the soccer programs.

What am I missing?

Not all of them are getting any athletic scholarship money.

What am I missing?