License coach- thoughts

Soccermaverick

SILVER ELITE
I’m a newbie so be gentle ... Why are most coaches I see in so cal clubs not licensed by the USSF? I see a couple of Fs... and Ds.. but while clubs just mention life experience (especially the ones with Puma as a sponsor).

Is there an advantage to having a USSF rated coach?

I’m a newbie so be gentle ... Why are most coaches I see in so cal clubs not licensed by the USSF? I see a couple of Fs... and Ds.. but while clubs just mention life experience (especially the ones with Puma as a sponsor).

If your coach does not have a license recognized by Cal South he is probably not covered by Cal South insurance and certainly not covered by their risk management program.

Coaches are licensed by the USSF if they are coaching competitive youth teams. AYSO has its own licensing pathway, but US Club Soccer and US Youth Soccer (90% of competitive teams in SoCal) must have their "GrassRoots License" (formerly E) and should have their D license if older youth. I have an E license, which has been swallowed up by the Grassroot license.

Thanks...What do you consider the minimum rating... is F “the get in the door license”?

F isn't given any more. It was a one day course with only minimal soccer content. Most of it could be summarized as "NO" - no scores, no standings, no orange slices, no Gatorade, no yelling at the ref. Everybody who showed up passed - and you may have noted it had a negligible effect on youth soccer programs in So Cal.

My E course was Friday night and Saturday. We got a little more soccer theory and coaching practice in that, and two people in wheelchairs passed. Positive note - I finally learned how to head a soccer ball properly.

Thanks...What do you consider the minimum rating... is F “the get in the door license”?