Risks of playing a year up

URAQT

BRONZE
I’m new to SoCal soccer.com but it seems to have many knowledgeable people who have been through it all when it comes to club soccer. My questions is this, my daughter is currently playing a year up but out of 15 players I would say she’s top 9, if we choose to move to her age bracket she would be top 2/3, since playjng relaxed/fun/creative is what we’re after, will playing up hinder her development as a creative player? Or will playing in a higher level help her in the long run? Thank you for any input you may have.

If playing up means doing 11v11 instead of 9v9, I would not do it. You will get less touches on the ball in 11v11.

My son went back and forth between playing up and with his age group over the years and for him, it was always a question of confidence. If the level of the older team was so high that he didn't play much or they were so much bigger that he was getting out muscled all the time, his confidence would drop and he wouldn't improve much and we would move him down. But if he felt like he was contributing and able to play freely, he would improve more playing up.

So, it depends on the kid and their reaction.

If playing up means doing 11v11 instead of 9v9, I would not do it. You will get less touches on the ball in 11v11.

All season she played 11v11 and for this coming year both teams would be 11v11 but it’s a good point since you get so many more touches on a smaller field, miss those days.

My son went back and forth between playing up and with his age group over the years and for him, it was always a question of confidence. If the level of the older team was so high that he didn't play much or they were so much bigger that he was getting out muscled all the time, his confidence would drop and he wouldn't improve much and we would move him down. But if he felt like he was contributing and able to play freely, he would improve more playing up.

So, it depends on the kid and their reaction.