How old is "too old" if holding back student athletes

M60Gunner

BRONZE
I fully realize that parents "holding back" their student/athlete child is nothing new....and even seems to be the accepted norm anymore. Just curious on views out there? Should their be a cut off date? Or has it simply become an accepted norm and basically an afterthought?

Question came to mind as I was looking at ranked players on topdrawersoccer....one of whom has a Jan '06 bday, but is listed as a 2025 graduate. Turning 19 in January of your senior year of HS seems a bit much. But maybe that's me (considering I turned 18 three months after I graduated).

I fully realize that parents "holding back" their student/athlete child is nothing new....and even seems to be the accepted norm anymore. Just curious on views out there? Should their be a cut off date? Or has it simply become an accepted norm and basically an afterthought?

Question came to mind as I was looking at ranked players on topdrawersoccer....one of whom has a Jan '06 bday, but is listed as a 2025 graduate. Turning 19 in January of your senior year of HS seems a bit much. But maybe that's me (considering I turned 18 three months after I graduated).
I have always been appalled by parents who hold their kid back for any reason other than extreme social immaturity or academic deficiency. There is something really wrong with you as a parent if you are trying to gain athletic advantage by holding your kid back a grade. And at some point CIF should have an age cut off even if the kid has not used 4 years of high school eligibility. Maybe they already do.

OMG, someone should write Congress about how this is eviscerating youth sports, since there are 10000x more of them than transgender athletes and we all know how the trans have ruined everything.